Peter’s Panang Chicken Curry with Pineapple

I’ve never liked pineapple– I’ve always found it sickeningly sweet, although perhaps that’s just because the only pineapple I had as a kid came from a Dole can.

But then our friends Peter and Cat invited Joe and me for dinner last night, and this curry… well, it kind of opened my eyes.  This dish has the general tropical sweetness of a Thai curry, but it’s got enough heat and flavor that the pineapple sweetness doesn’t totally dominate.  They served it with a mixture of brown and wild rice and a side of boiled sweet corn.

1 can Maesri panang curry paste

2.5 cups coconut milk

Fresh red, yellow and green bell peppers, sliced

1 chicken breast, diced

1/4 trimmed pineapple, cubed

Brown the chicken.  Stir-fry the curry paste, slowly adding the coconut milk a little at a time.  Add the chicken and other ingredients and simmer for about 20 minutes or until all ingredients are tender and cooked through.

For a vegetarian version, substitute tofu for chicken. 

Leave a comment

6 Responses to “Peter’s Panang Chicken Curry with Pineapple”

  1. Daniel Says:

    I wonder if the curry paste is gluten free?

  2. Jenai Says:

    thanks for the recipe, i was going to use a recipie with curry powder, coriander and brown sugar, but i know its hard to get the authentic taste .. YOu saved my dish!, I had panang paste in the fridge and i bet this is a case of the simpler the better! I will try it with shrimp paste, lime juice etc next time….but this is a tasty and very simple dish providing you have a decent panang paste

  3. Elizabeth Says:

    If I can find the ingredients, I think I’m going to try making this. I’ve only very recently started cooking with chicken (I’ve never liked chicken much, but it’s so much cheaper than fish, and I get sick of eggs, the staple of my diet) but I think I could handle this. Do you think it would work with chicken thighs instead?

  4. Jodi Says:

    I always make Panang Curry with Chicken Thighs. The flavor of the meat is so much better and it’s a lot cheaper than brests.

    Shoot for boneless skinless thighs though!

  5. Elizabeth Says:

    Awesome (and thanks!). I think I might try to make this this week.

  6. Elizabeth Says:

    I just made this and it was delicious! (I made a ton, too, so I’ll be eating it for a few days: yum.)

    I added some eggplant and summer squash because I’ve been wanting to eat more veggies — this was a good move. (I’d wanted to also add mushrooms, but I didn’t leave myself enough room in the pot!) I would definitely make this again, for myself or for a dinner party.

    Question, on that note: I’m going to have a dinner party with some vegan guests and this recipe would be perfect if I replaced the chicken with either tofu or more veggies (or both). However, I’m totally unfamiliar with cooking with tofu. Anyone have some general tips on how that would work with this recipe? Would I still do something with the tofu like an equivalent of browning the chicken, or just simmer it in the sauce?


Leave a Reply

