Poached Chilean Sea Bass Over Couscous with Mango Avocado Salsa; Steamed French Beans with Parmesan and Prosciutto; Chocolate Souffles

Sarah and I had guests Friday night, so I picked up some really beautiful Chilean sea bass steaks. First, I seared the bass in some olive oil for about a minute and a half on each side and removed it to a plate. I poured out the oil and put the pan back on the heat. I deglazed the pan with some chicken stock and stirred in a teaspoon of saffron. I added some sliced onion, rosemary and sage stalks and salt and pepper. I put the bass back in the pan, covered it and put it into a 400-degree oven for about 15 minutes.

I made some couscous with almonds and piled it in the center of the plate. I put a piece of bass on top of the couscous and topped it with the following salsa:

Two mangoes, chopped

Two shallots, sliced

One avocado, chopped

Fifteen red and yellow grape tomatoes, quartered

Juice of one lemon

Olive oil

Walnut oil

Balsamic vinegar

Handful of baby spinach in a chiffonade

Handful of cilantro, chopped finely

Four stalks of tarragon, coarsely chopped

Combine all ingredients and refrigerate an hour or so.

For presentation, I made some roasted cornmeal corn cakes, broke them in half and propped them into the salsa to give the dish height. I served a few corn cakes on the side as well.

I also steamed some French beans for ten minutes or so. I still wanted them crispy. I tossed them with salt, pepper, olive oil, lemon juice, pieces of parmegiano-reggiano and prosciutto. These were served on the side as well.

This recipe serves four, by the way.

For dessert, I made some Grand Marnier Chocolate Souffles. I can’t take credit for this recipe. This is from Emeril Lagasse of Food Network fame. The only variation that I made was that I topped it with some fresh whipped cream with Grand Marnier mixed in. A lot of people find Emeril to be a bit cheesy. I do as well, but when you cut through all of the fluff, he is a really great chef. I use his recipes a lot and and I am always very satisfied.

Leave a comment

Digg!

4 Responses to “Poached Chilean Sea Bass Over Couscous with Mango Avocado Salsa; Steamed French Beans with Parmesan and Prosciutto; Chocolate Souffles”

  1. sassy Says:

    Mmm… Was that recipe pure spur of the moment inspiration ? Sounds amazing !

  2. jcleffie Says:

    Thanks. I turned out really well in large part due to the great fish that I was able to find. I try to cook with good fresh ingredients. When we came up with the idea for this dish we originally wanted to use salmon. But when I went to different places, I couldn’t find salmon that looked as good as I would like. So, I bought the bass. It was white as snow and had only a faint odor of the sea. When poached, they had almost a creamy texture.

    So, not completely spur of the moment because we had a general idea where we were going but we were flexible based on the best ingredients available. We’ve found that it is harder to go wrong with this idea even if it means breaking from a recipe or plan a bit.

  3. Jonathan Says:

    Sounds delish. I would also recommend that salsa over some jerked fish or jerked chicken. We do this often with a side of rice and pea or curried yuca (we should have these recipes on our blog some day soon, hopefully!). It’s a cheap meal for those dinner parties and healthy, too! Thanks for the idea of using sea bass.

  4. therealpotato Says:

    Oh, that sounds tasty! What’s the link to your blog?


Leave a Reply

