Asiago, Mascarpone Cheese and Wild Mushroom Ravioli with Seared Sea Scallops

This is a simple, light yet elegant meal I put together the other night. The ravioli is from Trader Joe’s. Despite the name they were not very cheese flavored, so I would suggest using some grated cheese of your choosing.

I salted the scallops in advance and then boiled the ravioli. When they were done, I drained them and set them aside. I heated two skillets, one with olive oil and the other with a couple tablespoons of butter. In the one with oil I seared the scallops on both sides for a few minutes. You want a nice brown crust but the scallops should be still very moist inside.

While the scallops were searing, I added some sage to the butter and tossed in the ravioli. When they were reheated and well coated I plated five on each plate. I added a couple more tablespoons of butter to the pan and some more sage. Remove the pan from the heat and add a couple tablespoons of plain yogurt and the juice of one lemon. Removing the pan from the heat first will help ensure the yogurt does not curdle.

Place the two scallops in the center of each plate in the middle of the ravioli. Spoon the yogurt sauce over the scallops and ravioli. Then drizzle a little truffle oil on each scallop and each ravioli. Go very light on the truffle oil. It is very strong and can overwhelm the light flavors easily. I garnished the plate with some green onion for presentation.

Had I thought of it, I also would have used some chopped sun-dried tomatoes as garnish as well.

Despite the yogurt and butter sauce this dish is very light.

Leave a comment

Digg!
Stumble It! add to del.icio.us

Leave a Reply

