Gluten-Free for a Day

gluten free girl

When I went gluten-free, it was a crash course in nutrition not only for me, but for everyone who cared about me. Joe read everything he could about flour mixes, and learned to bake gluten-free versions of all of my favories. Friends who’d never read a label in their lives were suddenly asking me detailed questions about the contents of modified food starch, and my grammy spent the holiday season figuring out which of her cookie recipes could be adapted to be gluten-free. I was deeply touched to see them going to such great lengths to feed me– in fact, it was that experience that made me realize how deeply rooted our food traditions are in our lives and relationships.

But cooking for (or even finding a restaurant for) a gluten-free loved one was also a learning experience for them. They were always astonished to realize how much effort is involved in maintaining a strictly gluten-free life. It reminds me of an interactive exhibit that was at the Pittsburgh Children’s Museum when I was a kid– there was a whole setup with a kitchen, a store, and other areas, and you had to negotiate everything using a wheelchair. It helped kids to realize the challenges people who use wheelchairs face, and learn to be more considerate and mindful.

Which is why I was so moved when I read a post called One Gluten-Free Day at Not Martha (which is hereby added to my blogroll). In honor of the release of the book Gluten-Free Girl, by Shauna James Ahern (of the wonderful blog by the same name), Not Martha decided to see if she could follow a strict GF diet for an entire day. The result is an eye-opener for her and for the reader– go, click, enjoy!

Leave a comment

Digg!

Stumble It! add to del.icio.us

2 Responses to “Gluten-Free for a Day”

  1. taylor Says:

    I read that post yesterday. It made me wonder what food would be the hardest to avoid. I think it’s a toss up between wheat and corn. I’m very thankful that, as of yet, I don’t have to avoid any foods for health reasons.

  2. jcatherine Says:

    There is book out there that can tell you in detail everything you could possibly want to know about being gluten free or having celiac disease. It’s called “Recognizing Celiac Disease”. I’ve seen it mentioned online by many of the local celiac groups. It outlines “safe foods” and “unsafe foods” and has a huge chart where you can see if a particular illness is related to being gluten intolerant and what deficiencies which caused it. Easy to understand too!

    The most interesting thing is, studies are showing more and more people are gluten intolerant than previously thought…


Leave a Reply

