Spinach Salad with Feta and Pine Nuts

It’s true, I admit it: I’m obsessed with spinach salads. I can’t get enough. I’m forever thinking of delicious things to do to a bowl of baby spinach. I realize this obsession is a little strange, but since most of my food obsessions tend to involve things like duck fat or pork belly or ghee, a spinach obsession is probably a healthy thing!

I whipped this little salad up last night to accompany the tasty Whole Foods mushroom ravioli Joe was making. I just grabbed some things we had in the house, but it turned out to be marvelously tasty. It was so good I had another one later, while watching Jericho (excellent show, by the way), and packed one for lunch today. It’s that good. And it’s very simple to whip up.

Spinach Salad with Feta and Pine Nuts

Large handful of baby spinach, rinsed

Handful of pine nuts

A few tablespoons of crumbled feta cheese

Extra virgin olive oil (the best you can get)

Lemon juice

Pieces of leftover roast chicken (optional– use whatever you’ve got lying around)

Put the pine nuts in a dry pan and toast over medium heat until they are dark golden brown, but not burnt. They’ll be crunchy and release their oil, which is full of flavor. Crumble the feta over the spinach. Add the pine nuts, chicken, and olive oil and toss. Give it a few squirts of lemon juice and dig in. Repeat.

Leave a comment

Digg!

Stumble It! add to del.icio.us

2 Responses to “Spinach Salad with Feta and Pine Nuts”

  1. keeneye Says:

    We make a Spinach salad that I brag is the best ever…

    Baby spinach
    shredded provolone
    toasted pinenuts
    sliced red onions
    chopped bacon
    raspberry honey dressing

    I love a great Spinach salad. You can almost feel the iron take over your body — like Popeye!

  2. Mrs.K. Says:

    I just made some wilted spinach the other day that was fantastic…in fact I think I’ll try it again for lunch today. I got the recipe from allrecipes.com and then just tweaked it and made it a little different.

    Dressing:
    1/4 cup extra virgin olive oil
    2 tablespoons balsamic vinegar
    1 teaspoon lemon juice
    1 tablespoon bottled minced garlic
    1 pinch sea salt
    1 pinch ground black pepper

    4 ounces baby spinach
    1 1/2 tablespoons pine nuts

    It suggested wilting the spinach in a steamer and then tossing with the dressing, but I felt more like sauteeing it, so I threw all the dressing ingredients in a pan and just cooked the spinach until it was a nice deep green. I didn’t have pine nuts, but I bet it would have been great with them. No one else in the family really liked the spinach (my kids are ridiculously picky at the moment) so I got to eat almost all of it myself…lucky me!! 🙂


Leave a Reply

