Sugar-Crusted Salmon with Stir-Fried Purple String Beans

I can’t take credit for this idea. Emeril Legasse of Food Network did sugar-crusted salmon a number of years ago. It is really easy and very tasty. Take salmon and cut it into two inch wide strips. Coat with sugar and saute a couple minutes on all sides. Serve over rice.

I also made some purple string beans. I stir fried them in a wok with a bit of oil, sesame oil, dark soy sauce and a little rice wine vinegar. When they were done I chopped some lemon verbena and tossed it with the beans. Lemon verbena’s flavor is intense, so use it sparingly. Purple string beans are a little more fibrous than thier green counter parts. I sauted them until they turned green so I know they were done but they were still a bit chewy. They had a good flavor, though.  If we buy them again, I may just steam them.

Overall a quick, healthy and very flavorful meal. Totally dairy-free, and you can make it gluten-free easily by using tamari instead of soy sauce.

Leave a comment

Digg!

8 Responses to “Sugar-Crusted Salmon with Stir-Fried Purple String Beans”

  1. celiacgourmet Says:

    Interesting! Did you use granulated sugar, brown or raw? I have always liked the vanilla and salmon profile, plain sugar seems like a slap on the forehead!
    Nic

  2. jcleffie Says:

    Thanks for the comment.

    I just used regular granulated sugar. Extra fine sugar would work well too. I’ve tried brown sugar and raw sugar too but I’ve found they don’t adhere to the salmon as well and, therefore, the crust isn’t as uniform as it could be. The flavors are wonderful together altough the application is a bit counterintuitive.

  3. Jonathan and Amy Says:

    This sounds really interesting. Can you describe what the taste of the salmon is like with the crusted sugar? I’m trying to imagine it…

  4. jcleffie Says:

    It almost takes on a bit of a smokey flavor. You don’t want the sugar to burn but you want it to carmelize a little. You get that almost carmel smokiness that meshes really well with salmon’s strong flavor. I hope that helps. I’m not the best sometimes at conveying flavors. Try it and let us know what you think.

  5. KeenEye Says:

    I do a very similar dish, adding a flavorful spice to the sugar to change the salmon. Chili Powder, Curry, or Ground Red Pepper makes the dish different every time.

    I also do sugar-crusted asparagus spears on the grill. Toss in olive oil and sugar, and grill until lightly crunchy and slightly blackened on the outside. So good!

  6. celiacgourmet Says:

    I see! I have done maple-glazed salmon (usually with chipotle or smoked paprika, and cilantro) for a long time, it sounds similar to KeenEye’s dish.

  7. jcleffie Says:

    Both of those sound wonderful. I love the sweet and spicy contrast.

    I definitely will give the asparagus a try soon. I can almost taste it already.

  8. kristine Says:

    this sounds wonderful, I was looking for a recipe for brown sugar crusted salmon, and came upon this, I have made the salmon browned with red curry dissolved in olive oil, and its wonderful, I think I will try it the same only with the sugar I also love the sweet and spicey contrast but I have not tried it with salmon, thanks for the idea


Leave a comment